skip navigation

Jim Montgomery Named Head Coach of Dallas Stars

By Jordan Kuhns, 05/04/18, 10:00AM CDT


Fighting Saints legend to take championship pedigree to the NHL

DUBUQUE, Iowa — Jim Montgomery, former head coach and general manager of the Dubuque Fighting Saints, and former head coach of the University of Denver Pioneers, has accepted the position of head coach of the NHL’s Dallas Stars, according to Stars general manager Jim Nill.

Montgomery’s championship resume as a head coach and brilliant evaluator of talent started in Dubuque in 2010. During his tenure in the Key City, “Monty” accumulated a record of 118-45-21 (.641), won two Clark Cup championships, won an Anderson Cup championship as well as a Cowbell Cup championship, and won GM of the Year in 2013. He helped a large amount of Fighting Saints alumni develop the skills necessary to become NHL-level professionals, such as Johnny Gaudreau, Zemgus Girgensons, Mike Matheson, Matt Benning, and many others.

Since moving on to Denver over the past five seasons, Montgomery’s tradition of excellence continued. He led the Pioneers to the NCAA Tournament in all five seasons behind the bench, won the NCAA National Championship in 2017, captured two NCHC Championships, won the Spencer Penrose Award for NCAA Coach of the Year in 2017, and finished as a finalist for the Herb Brooks Award for NCHC Coach of the Year in 2016 and 2017.

The native of Montreal, Quebec was a college hockey standout for the University of Maine, where he won an NCAA National Championship and Tournament MVP in 1993. He scored 301 points in 170 games for the Black Bears. The championship pedigree continued into Montgomery’s pro career, as he helped capture the AHL’s Calder Cup with the Philadelphia Phantoms in 1998.

Montgomery is set to take over for legendary NHL coach Ken Hitchcock, who retired from his post following the conclusion of the 2017–2018 season. He will look to bring the Stars back to prominence and back into the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since the 2015–2016 season.