skip navigation

22 Former Saints Players To Play For An NCAA Championship In 2019

By Jack Milewski, 03/25/19, 12:45PM CDT


Dubuque Holds Representation On 13 Of 16 Tournament Teams

The Dubuque Fighting Saints will see 24 alumni enter the NCAA tournament this season. The alumni, comprised of 22 former players and two former coaches, are represented on 13 of the 16 tournament teams. The NCAA tournament begins this Friday, March 29th and is scheduled to conclude on April 13th at the KeyBank Center in Buffalo, New York. The Fighting Saints have former players on all four teams in the West and Northeast regionals, on three of the East regional teams and two of the Midwest regional squads. You don’t have to go back very far to find the last Fighting Saints alumnus to win the NCAA Championship. Karson Kuhlman captained Minnesota-Duluth to their second title in school history just last season, adding a goal and an assist in the championship game. Dubuque has had at least one alumnus capture the national title each year since the 2013-14 season. Here are the former players and how they break down by team.



St. Cloud State: Jacob Benson, Brendan Bushy, Robby Jackson

AIC: Jeff Baum

Ohio State: Wyatt Ege, Sasha Larocque, Quinn Preston, former coach J.B. Bitner

Denver: Cole Guttman, Michael Davies



UMass: Brett Boeing

Harvard: R.J. Murphy

Notre Dame: Alex Steeves, Mike O’Leary, Colin Theisen

Clarkson: Adam Tisdale



Minnesota State: Dallas Gerads

Providence: Shane Kavanagh, Spenser Young, Tyce Thompson

Northeastern: Zach Solow



Bowling Green: Taylor Schneider

Arizona State: Josh Maniscalco, former coach Mike Field